monochromatic pooch

monochromatic pooch

Hello everyone!

Today I decided to use a photo I took of my dog Max. The reason I wanted to talk about this image was based on more than just his adorable looks. I have this picture hanging on a wall in my house and it always seems to be a conversation starter. It also happened to get quite a few likes on Instagram. So I wanted to know, what is it about this photo that makes people drawn to it?

Initially I assumed people liked it because it’s simply a cute picture of a dog. Now knowing what we’ve learned so far in class, I realize there are several visual elements that automatically appeal to the eye.

Originally I took this photo from far away, which left more of the background elements in it. Being further away, I felt like there were too many focal points, which made the image look too hectic. I wanted this to be a photo where Max was the only focal point and I think after cropping, I achieved that.

Because the photo is in black and white it has no saturation or hues, which makes it both monochromatic and achromatic. I didn’t realize at the time but when I changed the picture from colour to black and white, it helped pick up on the different textures and brought out more contrast. For example, Max’s fur as well as the trees and water in the background became a lot more distinguished when shown in black and white.

As much as I like to think that Max deserves full credit for the amount of likes and comments he got on this photo, I know the visual elements I talked about might also play a part!

-Lindsay

Leave a Reply

