Before and After – Black and White

S0258_MonoMixAft

I don’t know about you guys, but I am a sucker for before and after pictures! With absolutely anything that has been manipulated using Photoshop,  I love seeing the original photograph and the end result side by side so that I can see what a huge difference the editing really makes. I think that this is the best way to truly appreciate the effects that the designer has created from the photographers original photograph.

This photo is the perfect example of a before and after picture! I really like the first photograph because the contrast between the colour of the woman’s bouquet stands out against the background of her white wedding dress. I love how the bride is in focus, but the men in the background are blurry. This ensures that the viewers eye goes directly to the bride and is not distracted by the background.

Even though the first photograph is beautiful, I really love the second one. More and more, photographers are leaning towards black and white photos, especially for wedding photography. In my mind, the black and white photo is more soothing and creates a more romantic allusion. Because there is more contrast in the first photo and a gray scale limits the amount of colour contrast available, my eye does not go directly to the pink bouquet, but rather the woman’s smiling face.

This being said, I do not think that I prefer black and white photographs to colour ones. There are certain times that I believe that black and white photographs have more of an impact, and I believe that wedding photography is one of those times!

– Erika Murray

Leave a Reply

