Inde What?

InDe what? Is the first thing that came to mind when I found out that we would be learning about this editing program for this course. I don’t know about you but I’m not the type that can catch on to these programs and tools easily. I work better with researching short cuts and trail and error working with the program. SO I took it upon myself to research on the porgram and wanted to share it with all of you.

2009-04-082017-18-24indesign

Now let’s get to business. My first confusion was why are we learning InDesign and Photoshop. I quickly learned that there is a difference between the two programs and what to use them for. Photoshop is a program that you should use when you’re creating and editing photos and raster (pixel) based art work. Where InDesign is for laying out printed materials; that’s what it is designed to do. This could be brochures, newsletters, ads, business cards or books. Virtually anything that is made up of a combination of blocks of text, photos or other artwork. Screen Shot 2013-03-13 at 11.29.17 PM

Now that we have the basic covered lets explore the … fun stuff. I was able to find these two outlines of short cuts for the program on Pintrest. Both have some similar consistent shortcuts as well as a few different ones. Now there is a few I’d like to point out which I consider the basic essential tools.

InDesign 101 by Alysha

1) Copy – shift/command ‘c’

2) Cut –  shift/command ‘x’

3) paste –  shift/command ‘v’

4) selection – ‘v’

5) Rotate – ‘r’

6) zoom – ‘z’

7) scissors – ‘c’

8) pencil – ‘n’

9) pen – ‘p’

10) Hand (navigation) – ‘h’

Hoping these quick fixes will help you through the processes of mastering InDesign!

3d303c93ab3da9a3e90b47aa4452b146

Leave a Reply

